This is an archive of a past election.
See for current information.
State of California June 8, 2010 Election
Smart Voter Additional Endorsements for Kamala D. Harris

Candidate for
Attorney General; Democratic Party

This information is provided by the candidate

Statewide and National Elected Leaders

  • U.S. House Speaker Nancy Pelosi
  • California Senate President Pro Tem Darrell Steinberg
  • U.S. Secretary of Transportation and Congressman Norman Mineta (Ret.)
  • Congresswoman Barbara Lee
  • Congresswoman Diane Watson
  • Congressman, Lt. Gov., Senator and Assemblyman Mervyn Dymally (Ret.)
  • Former California Attorney General John Van de Kamp
  • Former California Superintendent of Public Instruction Delaine Eastin
  • State Board of Equalization Chair Betty Yee
  • Former San Francisco Mayor and Assembly Speaker Willie Brown

Citywide Elected Officials

  • Los Angeles Mayor Antonio Villaraigosa
  • San Francisco Mayor Gavin Newsom
  • Oakland Mayor Ron Dellums
  • Sacramento Mayor Kevin Johnson
  • Los Angeles City Council President Eric Garcetti
  • Los Angeles City Controller Wendy Greuel

Legislative Leaders

  • California Legislative Black Caucus
  • Senate Elaine Alquist (D-San Jose)
  • Senator Dean Florez (D-Shafter)
  • Senator Mark Leno (D-San Francisco)
  • Senator Curren Price (D-Los Angeles)
  • Senator Leland Yee (D-San Francisco)
  • Senator Dan Boatwright (Ret.)
  • Senator Sheila Kuehl (Ret.)
  • Senator Joseph Dunn (Ret.)
  • Senator Kevin Murray (Ret.)

  • Assemblyman Sandré Swanson (D-Oakland)
  • Assemblyman Steven Bradford (D-Gardena)
  • Assemblyman Mike Davis (D-Los Angeles)
  • Assemblyman Isadore Hall (D-Compton)
  • Assemblyman Jared Huffman (D-Marin)
  • Assemblyman Rusty Areias (Ret.)
  • Assemblywoman Dion Aroner (Ret.)
  • Assemblywoman Sally Lieber (Ret.)
  • Assemblywoman Gwen Moore (Ret.)
  • Assemblyman Mike Roos (Ret.)

Law Enforcement Leaders

  • Los Angeles Chief of Police William Bratton (Ret.)
  • San Diego Chief of Police William Lansdowne
  • San Francisco Police Chief George Gascón
  • San Francisco Sheriff Mike Hennessey
  • Police Chief Anthony Batts (personal endorsement)
  • East Palo Alto Police Chief Ron Davis
  • Half Moon Bay Police Chief Don O'Keefe
  • San Francisco Police Commission President Dr. Joe Marshall
  • San Francisco Police Commission Vice President Thomas Mazzucco
  • San Francisco Police Commissioner David Onek
  • Officers for Justice Peace Officers Association
  • Los Angeles District Attorney Ira Reiner (Ret.)
  • Merced District Attorney Larry Morse
  • Sonoma County District Attorney Stephan Passalacqua
  • Plumas County District Attorney Jeff Cunan

Labor Leaders & Organizations

  • United Farm Workers Co-Founder Dolores Huerta
  • SEIU California
  • California Federation of Teachers
  • California Nurses Association
  • United Educators of San Francisco
  • Carpenters Local 22
  • San Francisco Firefighters Local 798

Local California Leaders & Organizations

  • San Francisco Treasurer Jose Cisneros
  • San Francisco Assessor-Recorder Phil Ting
  • San Francisco Board of Supervisors President David Chiu
  • San Francisco Supervisor Michaela Alioto-Pier
  • San Francisco Supervisor John Avalos
  • San Francisco Supervisor Carmen Chu
  • San Francisco Supervisor Bevan Dufty
  • San Francisco Supervisor Sean Elsbernd
  • San Francisco Supervisor Sophie Maxwell

  • Alameda County Supervisor Keith Carson
  • Alameda County Treasurer Don White
  • Alameda City Councilmember Frank Mataresse
  • Napa County District Attorney Gary Lieberstein
  • San Jose City Council Member Madison Nguyen
  • San Jose City Council Member Ash Kalra
  • Oakland City Council President Ignacio de la Fuente
  • Oakland City Councilwoman Jean Quan
  • Oakland City Councilwoman Rebecca Kaplan
  • Oakland City Auditor Courtney Ruby
  • Berkeley City Council Member Darryl Moore
  • Millbrae City Councilwoman Gina Papan
  • Sacramento City Councilmember Lauren Hammond
  • Santa Barbara County Supervisor Salud Carbajal
  • San Rafael Councilmember Damon Connolly
  • Walnut Creek City Councilmember Kish Rajan
  • West Hollywood Mayor Abbe Land
  • West Hollywood Councilmember Lindsey Horvath

Community Organizations

  • Alameda County Democratic Lawyers Club
  • Alice B. Toklas LGBT Democratic Club
  • APA Democratic Caucus of Alameda County
  • Asian American Action Fund
  • Black Women Organized for Political Action
  • Cal Berkeley Democrats
  • California League of Conservation Voters
  • California LIST
  • California National Organization for Women (CANOW)
  • College Democrats at UC Santa Cruz
  • Democratic Activists for Women Now (DAWN)
  • East Bay Stonewall Democratic Club
  • East Bay Young Democrats
  • EMILY's List
  • Indian American Leadership Initiative
  • Los Angeles Women's Political Committee
  • Mexican American Bar Association
  • National Women's Political Caucus
  • New Frontier Democratic Club
  • Noe Valley Democratic Club
  • San Diego County Young Democrats
  • San Francisco Women's Political Committee
  • San Francisco Young Democrats
  • Santa Monica Democratic Club
  • South Asian Bar Association of Northern California
  • South Asians for Opportunity
  • USC College Democrats
  • Women's Campaign Forum

Candidate Page || Feedback to Candidate || This Contest
June 2010 Home (Ballot Lookup) || About Smart Voter

The League of Women Voters does not support or oppose any candidate or political party.
Created from information supplied by the candidate: April 27, 2010 20:31
Smart Voter   <>
Copyright © League of Women Voters of California Education Fund