This is an archive of a past election.
See for current information.
LWV League of Women Voters of California Education Fund If you appreciate our service to voters, please consider helping us with a donation.
Smart Voter
Alameda, Contra Costa, San Joaquin Counties, CA June 8, 2010 Election
Measure B
Change In Number of Divisions
Byron-Bethany Irrigation District

Majority Approval Required

Pass: 1,568 / 85.7% Yes votes ...... 261 / 14.3% No votes
   548 (85.23%) Yes / 95 (14.77%) No in Contra Costa County
   16 (94.12%) Yes / 1 (5.88%) No in Alameda County
   1004 (85.89%) Yes / 165 (14.11%) No in San Joaquin County

See Also: Index of all Measures

Results as of Aug 20 9:43pm, 100.0% of Precincts Reporting (17/17)
  Includes 6/6 Precincts in Contra Costa County as of Jun 8 10:54pm
  Includes 1/1 Precincts in Alameda County as of Aug 20 9:35pm
  Includes 10/10 Precincts in San Joaquin County as of Aug 20 9:43pm
Information shown below: Impartial Analysis | Arguments |

Shall the number of divisions within the Byron Bethany Irrigation District be changed from nine divisions to seven divisions and thereby also reducing the members of the board of directors? Fiscal Impact: Potential annual savings to Byron Bethany Irrigation District of $48,000.

Impartial Analysis from the District General Counsel
Byron Bethany Irrigation District is a California Irrigation District formed under the California Water Code sections 20500 et seq. to provide water service for agricultural and municipal and industrial purposes to lands located within its boundaries. Byron Bethany Irrigation District as originally formed includes lands located in San Joaquin, Contra Costa and Alameda Counties.

On August 12, 2004, Byron Bethany Irrigation District consolidated with the former Plain View Water District, an adjacent district located solely within San Joaquin County. With the consolidation of the two districts into one, nine divisions were formed and the two boards of directors from Byron Bethany Irrigation District and Plain View Water District were merged into nine member board of directors. A separate member of the board of directors represents each of the nine divisions.

This measure would reduce the number of divisions within Byron Bethany Irrigation District to seven. If approved, Byron Bethany Irrigation District would re-divide the district into seven divisions and members of the board directors would be elected for each of the newly formed divisions at the general election to be held on November 2, 2010.

This measure would reduce annual expenses to the district by approximately $48,000.00

Sandra K. Dunn, General Counsel

The above statement is an Impartial Analysis of Measure B. If you desire a copy of Measure B, please call the Byron Bethany Irrigation District office at (209) 835-0375 and a copy will be mailed at no cost to you.

  News and Analysis

Google News Search

General Links

Byron Bethany Irrigation District
This election is archived. Any links to sources outside of Smart Voter may no longer be active. No further links will be added to this page.
Links to sources outside of Smart Voter are provided for information only and do not imply endorsement.

Arguments For Measure B Arguments Against Measure B
None filed.

Rebuttal to Arguments For
None filed.

None filed.

Rebuttal to Arguments Against
None filed.

San Joaquin Home Page || Statewide Links || About Smart Voter || Feedback
Created: August 20, 2010 21:43 PDT
Smart Voter <>
Copyright © League of Women Voters of California Education Fund
The League of Women Voters neither supports nor opposes candidates for public office or political parties.