LWV League of Women Voters of California
Santa Clara County, CA November 7, 2000 Election
Smart Voter Additional Endorsements for Craig Mann

Candidate for
Governing Board Member; East Side Union High School District

This information is provided by the candidate

Endorsements (partial list)

State of CA
Hon. Elaine Alquist, Assemblymember
Hon. John Dutra, Assemblymember
Hon. Liz Figueroa, Senator
Hon. Susan Hammer, CA State Board of Education member and former mayor of San Jose
Hon. Mike Honda, Assemblymember
Hon. Ted Lempert, Assemblymember
Hon. Byron Sher, Senator
Hon. John Vasconcellos, Senator
Tony West, Assistant Attorney General

County of Santa Clara
Hon. Jim Beall, County Supervisor
Hon. Peter McHugh, County Supervisor

City of San Jose
Hon. Cindy Chavez, Councilmember
Hon. Ron Gonzales, Mayor
Hon. Margie Matthews, Councilmember
Hon. Charlotte Powers, Councilmember

School Board Members
Hon. Leon Beauchman, Trustee, Santa Clara County Board of Education
Hon. David Cortese, Trustee, East Side Union High School District
Hon. Gaye Dabalos, Trustee, Alum Rock School District
Hon. J. Manuel Herrera, Trustee, East Side Union High School District
Hon. Nancy Knight, Trustee, Alum Rock School District
Hon. Andrea Leiderman, Trustee, Santa Clara County Board of Education
Hon. Jeff Ota, Trustee, East Side School Union High School District
Hon. Nancy Pyle, Trustee, San Jose/Evergreen Community College District
Hon. Ken Yeager, Trustee, San Jose/Evergreen Community College District

Other elected officials
Hon. William "Bill" Patterson, East Bay Municipal Utility District board of directors

School Educators/Executives
Dr. Maria Luisa Alaniz, Professor, San Jose State University
Manny Barbara, Superintendent, Oak Grove School District
St. Saffold, Administrator, San Jose State University
Kenneth Wesson, Exec. Asst to the Chancellor, San Jose/Evergreen Community College District
H. Clay Whitlow, President, Evergreen Valley College
Dr. Santiago Wood, former Superintendent, Alum Rock School District

Other community leaders
Peter Ashalou, Cisco Systems
Ruth Sypert Ashford, Hewlett Packard
Jaymes Barnes, Visto Corp.
Donald Black, San Jose Police Dept.
Barbara Boone, educator
Joe Brown, retired
Alfred Buzo, attorney
Mickelin Burnes-Browne, Berryessa resident
Angela Cade, Oak Grove resident
Rick Caton, East Side Teachers Association
Steve Chessin, Sun Microsystems
Rebecca Cohn, candidate for CA State Assembly district 24
Professor Terry Christensen, San Jose State University
Arlene Dawes, educator, Luther Burbank School
Dr. Herbert Engstrom, engineering manager
Carrie Farley, Evergreen teacher
Helen Gaffin, retired
Rickey Green, attorney
Teresa Guerrero-Daley, lawyer
Steve Flournoy, Evergreen resident
Michael Fox Sr., M.E. Fox & Company Inc.
Ginnie V. Gage, retired
Walter Hammon, attorney
Vatchye Hardeman, retired
Karen McNeil Harris, Honeywell
Dr. James Higgins, DDS
R. William Highlander, Evergreen resident
Luther Jackson, San Jose Newspaper Guild
Joseph Johnson
Karen M. Johnson, educational sign language interpreter
William Kindricks, Valley Transportation Authority
Gregory Lane, Evergreen teacher
Bobby Lee, First Federal Mortgage Bankers
Gertha and Casper Mann, Mom & Dad
Fe and Roberto Magat, Berryessa residents
Susan McKuhen, Gilroy resident
Sandra Mack, East Side educator
Rodney Moore, attorney
Alvin and Loucile Muldrow, retired
William Murray, retired educator
Roosevelt Norman, Jr., Evergreen resident
Pauline Nzeribe, Hitachi Data Systems
R.T. O'Neill, consultant
Joan Orcutt, Campbell educator
Dan Ordaz, Assistant Superintendent, ESUHSD
Lowell and Sophia Pannell, retired
Julie Hing-Pacheco, Oak Grove SD educator
Sandra Pizzaro
Chuck Reed, candidate for San Jose City Council district 4
Charles Roberson, Prudential California
Mark Salcedo
Charles Seay, Franklin-McKinley resident
Gladys Snell, retired
Loretta Strom, Evergreen resident
Orvella Stubbs, entreprenuer
William Suttles, Evergreen resident
Peter Szego, retired
Jeanette Mikell Swann, Burean of National Affairs
Emily and Jim Thurber, consultants
Royston Taylor, Siebel Systems
James Veny, consultant
Warren Vincent, Mt. Pleasant resident
Otis Watson, public affairs specialist
James Webb Jr., City of San Jose
Ronald West, consultant
Anna Williams, educator
Denise Williams, Evergreen teacher
James Williams, IBEW 332
Joan Williams, Berryessa resident
Forrest Williams, candidate for San Jose City Council district 2

Distinguished Organizations
Northern CA Carpenters Regional Council
Plummers, Steamfitters & Refrigeration Fitters Local 393
San Jose Federation of Teachers
San Jose Mercury News
Santa Clara County Democratic Central Committee
Santa Clara & San Benito Counties, Building & Construction Trades Council
Silicon Valley Asian Pacific American Democratic Club
South Bay AFL-CIO Labor Council
United Food & Commerical Workers Union, local 428

Next Page: Position Paper 1

Candidate Page || Feedback to Candidate || This Contest
November 2000 Home (Ballot Lookup) || About Smart Voter

ca/scl Created from information supplied by the candidate: October 30, 2000 11:19
Smart Voter 2000 <http://www.smartvoter.org/>
Copyright © 2000 League of Women Voters of California Education Fund.
The League of Women Voters neither supports nor opposes candidates for public office or political parties.